2007年7月30日月曜日
more for ya moola
Which Famous Homosexual are you?My friend femininistgrrl is now a member of the self indulgent live journal community. --Cannot begin to explain how much I hate my uni today, and how much it has fucked me around in the time i have been enrolled!! First the stuff qtac around so much i missed first round uni offers, and now they claim i did not withdraw without penalty from semester 1, when i was ill with chronic fatigue. --Packing is moving along, i'm all nostalgic going through my personal junk last night!, I am thinking of doing an instalation piece on my life thus far with lots of it- I was at the house miss_sprunkles is house-sitting and there was this funky one in the lounge that the house's owner must have got made for her 50th birthday, feat. items and ph otos from her life. I could include such things as a baby pic and clothing item, guitar pick, clarinet read, calisthenic badge/ pic, ballroom dancing item, teddy bear, some activist flier/ rally flier, old NUS business card when i was queer officer, ticket to les mis, sleater kinney ticket/ other concert tix i know i've hoarded, a keyring or two from my collection, items from my Europe holiday, my first car keys (car was written off hence i have keys still), lots more idease- must incorporate my love of everything 80's too.Doing dinner with my sister tonight, given we have nothing but our family links in common, it could be a silent night!!'Fuck Off Venny' drinks are talking place on Friday night at JC's, should be a good send off, drinking with the kids always is ensured a crazy night!
2007年7月29日日曜日
2007年7月11日水曜日
what a crazy few days!!
Dear Mr. President I don't wanna be in your military I don't need to engage in your war for oil overseas. In between my lovers legs is slick enough for me. ~ ALix Olson fucking brilliant quote hey!, taken from http://www.technodyke.com/forums/OH WHAT A CRAZY FEW DAYS!, Sunday I went to the tote for the 3CR SUWA benefit gig, my last gig in Melbourne, a great send of with the delightful HOMEWRECKERS!! miss_sprunkles , Gem and Rachelle were there too, and I finally spoke to Jen after seeing her all over the country last year (well just bris and melb). Shan and I were just a tad pissed, so ok our dancing clealy demonstrated this fact! Flea dedicated a song to us crazy dancing grrls (although she forgot my name :-( ) We spoke to Flea on da way out to the Glassy, she gave lots of hugs and we invited her to the Glassy as it was karaoke night!The Glassy, lots of grrls I knew there, and i am begining to realise that the dyke scene in melb is smaller that i make it out to be. Its obviously not a small and incestuous as bris, but the degrees of seperation exist, if only a few strands longer. Some of the old skool latrobites were there, glad to hear Jen broke up with pyscho Amy- who i had the unpleasant fortune of living with for six months a couple of years ago. Shannon, Gem and I sang 'Heaven is a Place on Earth' by the fabulous Belinda Carlisle, complete with air guitar and raunchy moves by Gem! (yes i did say once, "the say in heaven, THE LEFT comes first"- refer to zine when its out for that) I freaked myself out by the sound of my punk rock voice loud and clear in the glassy! Pity a certain someone wasnt there then! Shan and Gem also sang 'Ironic' by Alanis. We were about to leave when Flea rocked up, so we had more drinks and danced, Gemma and I doing the cha-cha!! Shan and Flea put down to sing Shakira's song 'Wherever Whenever' but didnt get too, so Flea wrote down 'Flea and the pest controllers' with the song being 'bite me' no. 666 We also kept yelling out for Tribe 8! Went back to the house that Shan is house-sitting in Northcote with ms flea (no no Karla I do not think she is God or a goddess, I'll shall explain now why) So semi-idols fall from grace too, especially when you see them being so demanding of another womyn, in a way that reafirms the patriarchal position of women, its bad when its by another womyn too! Shan, Flea and I had to share a single mattress and cushions forming another; think twister without the game sheet! Lets just say one of the three is an uber loud snorer, makes what was described by another as "sex noises" when she rolled over and sounds like she is growling. Shan got squished when the spikey one rolled right up next to her. WE GOT INVITED TO BE GUESTS ON FLEA'S 3CR SHOW 'BITTERNESS BARBIE' ( http://www.3cr.org.au )MONDAY:miss_sprunkles and I went to the shops for food, have brunch and then i left for home, did more packing (fuck i sooo hate it!!) blah blah blah. Got to Shan's, moved her kit inside and left for the 3CR studios. Arrived before Flea, she brough a large supply of cd's and shan brought mostly sleater-kinney (no surprises there!), plus origami, 99 and ember swift. As guest presenters we got to pick da moosic and announce songs. Had a zine theme running and Shan was 'Shannon Woami' (thats women army) and I was 'Mel Lezzarine' (the zine is almost done!!)Some songs played last night on bitterness barbie:In your room, tHE bANGLES (which Flea turned the mic on when i was singing!!)2 Way, Remake/Remodel She's Got the Rythum, OrigamiBang, Yeah Yeah YeahsRebel Grrl, Bikini KillCinderella, Gazoonga Attacka song by Yellow Machinegun (punk ass grrls from Japan)The End of You, Sleater-kinney (pus 2 other sleater-kinney song)- (again the mics were turned on to reveal Shan and I belting out this little anthem of ours)$5, Ember Swift (live)Dyke March 2001, Le TigreSpiderwebs, No Doubt- for kraa (if Babes in Toyland was there I'd have played it earlier)The new 3CR cart moking the terrorist alert tv adsAnd in grand tradition of guests, Crapaoke (bad karaoke)was imposed on us naive selves, the song was to be by sleater-kinney (shock hooror!, not) but we wanted flea to make an ass of herself too and she didnt know the words (shame), so we went with the song Flea and Shan didnt get to sing at the Glassy, yes folks, we sang Shakira's 'Wherever Whenever' (whatever)- i cringe at the thought of how it must have sounded!! OMG will I eber recover from the terror of it all...Got to do a Melamoo style rant to!!, we love rants, spoke about the log cabin republicans, a gay lobby within George Bush's facist US Party. How during Midsummer the president of the San Francisco Chapter is speaking in Melbourne for $80!, and as they claim in the guide he is a "leading gay activist"!! BULLSHIT- the log cabin facists have done NOTHING for queers in the USA, and we all should know that queer liberation does not come from the state anyway! Plus being a republican, he is part of the slaughter of thousands of INNOCENT Afghanis, and soon to be Iraqi people too. So I helped call for a protest by progressive queers at the venue: FEB 7th (friday), it starts at 8pm, [so meet earlier] at The Match, 560 Church St, Richmond. Bring anti-war banners, or get creative NOW!We also read our star signs and commented on them, Shan's a tad cut that we said she was frustrated and needed a viabrator. Got to mention the zine and what it will feature, such as an interview with GIRLFRIDAY, refugees, wto reportback, drugging womyn, activist fashions and REAL womyn in rock stuff. I cannot believe the fun i have had with grrls i have just really met, and i'm leaving for brisbane on sunday!! Ok this is uber long and i have other stuff to dobrisbane ladyfestmelb correspondent, PR machine for girlfriday, bad singer on radio and lesbian terrorist,Melamoo xxxx !!! What are your true feelings towards Avril Lavigne? !!! brought to you by Quizilla-no surprises there!! psuedo-punk/barbies in black with studded belts shit me loads. (arrrrah!)
2007年7月10日火曜日
I really ca...
I really cannot stand people who do not question their privilige, or people who do not analyse the world around them critically- just accept the way it is and exist within the parametre set. This comes from a 'chat' with some women last night. I am glad the previous disgustingly corporate mardi gras collapsed, i dance on its ashes! I welcome, or hope to welcome as more grass roots, return to community focused mardi gras this year. I'd be living in fantasy if i told you i hoped too for a PROTEST rather than a parade (where the only ppl covered om mainstreat & queer media are pathetic sexist drag queens). Again its the same with midsumer in melbourne, the street party had to be cancelled due to rising public liability insurance- like hello! reclaim the fucking streets yourselves, you dont need the state to block off a road, cars wont go down it you "borrow" some orange witches hats and use large banners, with enough people on the road the cops will not move in and bust it up- hmmm if the cops did attempt to bust it up, it may do some good to the wishy-washy queer (or just gay) "community" of melbourne. "LIVE A LITTLE"-yer sure, when my working class queer comrades are alienated from there so called community by prices of entry, or the need for the 'right clothes' and body image; when they kill themselves for a multitude of reasons including alienation; when lesbians are raped or sexually assulted all the fucking time; when government attacks come monthly, ect.. Yer I'll "live a little" when middle class, or white queers, or gay men question their privilege, even just a little at first."if i cant dance its not my revolution" - emma goldman Which Sleater-Kinney song from One Beat are you? brought to you by Quizilla::seeing the homewreckers tonight, should cheer me right up!!:: miss_sprunkles was a hilarious drunk last night, very entertaining!, especially picking up the house phone when your mobile was ringing
more self indulgence today!!
You know the drill...unless you sent this to me, change all of the answers so that they apply to you. Then, send this to some people that you know, INCLUDING the person that sent it to you. The theory is that you will learn a lot of little known and fun facts about our friends. Have fun!1. What is your name? Melissa Therese Venville2. What colour pants are you wearing? mauve (pj pants)3. What are you listening to right now? Sleater-Kinney (coming soon!!)4. What are the last four digits of your phone number? 12115. What was the last thing you ate? toast6. If you were a crayon, what colour would you be? vibrant red, or maybe one of those glitter ones (silver)7. Where do you plan to go on your honeymoon? a coffin (I'd rather be dead than married!), lets say holiday, and i'd say Latin America (not Cuba!)8. How is the weather right now? sunny, could be warmer9. Last person you talked to on the phone? some hack from queensland (with a sexy voice...)10. What's the first thing you notice about the opposite sex? they smell yukky12. How are you today? hungover13. Your favourite drink? vanilla coke, or choc milkshakes14. Your favourite alcoholic drink? frangelico & milk15. Who do you admire? not into hierachies! ok, anyone who fightsoppression16. Favourite sport to play? dancing (esp. on an e), is nus a sport??17. Who do you love MOST in your life? my teddy bears18. Hair colour? dark blonde (wish it was light pink)19. Eye Colour? depends really, hazel20. What do you find annoying in a person? racist, sexist or homophobic attitudes21. Siblings and their ages? 2 younger sisters, 21 &1622. Favourite month? November, my birthday month23. Favourite food? olives and caesar salad24. Last movie you've watched? some crappy movie on the bus coming back from Sydney25. Favourite day of the year? changeover! (esp. last year)26. Are you too shy to ask someone out? YES! (not even when drunk)27. Summer or Winter? used to be a winter grrl, but love summer now (which is good given I'm moving to Brisbane!)28. Where do you see yourself next year? Brisbane!!, new course, new city,new directions29. Hugs or Kisses? all of the above, espeacially with womyn from bris30. Relationship or one night stands? relationships (maybe that will change soon...)31. What are you passionate about? where do i start?, ending mandatory detention, oppression, corporate globalisation.....32. Do you want your friends to write back? yep.33. Who is most likely to respond? not sure34. Who is least likely to respond? people i did not send it too35. Living Arrangements? one housemate, 3 goldfish and i36. What books are you reading? 'stupid white men' by michael moore37. What's on your mouse pad? dont have one38. Favourite Board Game? strip poker39. Favourite Magazine? rebellious (this yr latrobe womyn's mag) i prefer zines40. Favourite Smells? carnations, lavender and the ocean41. Least Favourite Smell? boys smells42. Favourite Sound? drums (played well, not me :-( ), guitar, and chants at big rallies (as long as its not stupid/ dsp ones)43. Worst Feeling in the World? depression (or big hangovers)44. What is the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning? "is it really morning?" or "will bush bomb iraq today?"45. Favourite Colour? red and purple (trot/ femmo!)46. How many rings before you answer the phone? depends whose calling!!47. Future Child's Name? harley-rose, tarquin, rebecca (so she will be a dyke, hehehe) or anthena (or other various goddesses)48. Do you think the glass is half empty or half full? half empty...49. Favourite movies? Boys on the Side, But I'm a Cheerleader and Bring It On50. Most life altering moment? getting involved in NUS (being a national ob too), or coming out!51. What's under your bed? my slippers (and no dust as a cleaned yesterday)52. What is your favourite number? 2353. One nice thing about the person who sent this to you? nessa is a really strong willed womyn, and a sorce of insperation to me54. What CD / Tape do you have in your stereo? One Beat by Sleater-Kinney55. Favourite TV Shows?- kath & kim (i love kitch!!)56. One thing you like about your crush at the moment? try multiple crushes!!, ok the main one- she is tacking her problems head on. (and dont like- is her faction [how obvious is that!] ) Which Dysfunctional Care Bear Are You? brought to you by Quizilla Which female sex symbol are you? brought to you by Quizilla
2007年7月9日月曜日
'Wargasim, Wargasim...'
Who said..."People should listen to us when we say, again and again: we determine the order at our border! And we ensure that it is maintained, for good reasons. Whoever wants to traverse [our] border needs permission. Otherwise, stay away from our border! I know, ladies and gentlemen, it sounds hard. And will perhaps even be interpreted by some of you as 'inhumane'. But what is 'humane' and what is 'inhumane'?"Was it:(a) Phillip Ruddock?(b) John Howard?(c) Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler, chief propagandist for the East German secret police, the Stasi, in a television broadcast made in 1965 after East German border guards had shot two people trying to escape over the Berlin Wall?The correct answer is "c". Hard, isn't it.>>Yes welcome to australia, very much like hitler's germany, the new asio powers sure add to the nostalgia! I have been uber busy with the packing, its so close now, i'm both excited and a tad scared too. Mum came and helped a bit today, although there is not much for her to do, i need to sort through papers and clothes. Still it was great spending a few quality hours with Mum, went out for lunch and talked about our lives. Yesterday I gave the new queer officers a change-over and reflected on my year as national queer officer, i think the department needs some serious structure and a focused campaign to re-establish a profile within member campuses. Last night I went over to the house that Shan is housesitting and met a chunk of her posse. Shan is hooked on a hammock! an addict i'd go as far to say, spending 6 hours on it yesterday (with her guitar and sleater-kinney, of course) Later we went to see Remake/Remodel, i brought their self titled 6 track ep, spoke to sarah about brissie bands for ladyfest too. I am back really liking Remake/Remodel- so go see them! when are they playing you ask??, find out at: http://www.remakeremodel.live.com.auMay just attend Shan & co's bbq/ drinks thing, for numbers against the anti sleater-kinney alliance! BOMB IRAQ Sung to the tune of "If You're Happy And You Know It Clap Your Hands" If we cannot find Osama, bomb Iraq. If the markets hurt your Mama, bomb Iraq. If the terrorists are Saudi And the bank takes back your Audi And the TV shows are bawdy, Bomb Iraq. If the corporate scandals growin', bomb Iraq. And your ties to them are showin', bomb Iraq. If the smoking gun ain't smokin' We don't care, and we're not jokin'. That Saddam will soon be croakin', Bomb Iraq. Even if we have no allies, bomb Iraq. From the sand dunes to the valleys, bomb Iraq. So to hell with the inspections; Let's look tough for the elections, Close your mind and take directions, Bomb Iraq. While the globe is slowly warming, bomb Iraq. Yea! the clouds of war are storming, bomb Iraq. If the ozone hole is growing, Some things we prefer not knowing. (Though our ignorance is showing), Bomb Iraq. So here's one for dear old daddy, bomb Iraq,From his favorite little laddy, bomb Iraq. Saying no would look like treason. It's the Hussein hunting season. Even if we have no reason, Bomb Iraq. -song i obtained via on of my 100 or so email groups Which Dysfunctional Care Bear Are You? brought to you by Quizilla
2007年7月8日日曜日
getting all sticky!
>>sticky from glue that is!, what where YOU thinking?? I have been a busy lesbian terrorist these past few days, the zine, 'Lezzarine', is almost complete!! Then I'll aim to make full use of free photocopying before i leave for bris. Packing is taking me longer, i keep dragging my feet, as i REALLY hate packing, Mum is helping me this weekend so this will help! >>The new posse at NUS have quickly settled in, i'm giving a changeover tommorow with the new female national queer officer. >>Georgie has moved out, and is now in Greece for a month, the house is lonely without the little munchkin about. Still I 'm not here much longer either. Speaking of housemates, buddy becca needs a place to live in bris, so now we have formed a bloc and are searching for houses in and around west end! I love west end, its tres funky, great access to public transport (Like FERRIES!!) great cafes and bookshops too. >>I'm missing Slinkee tonight, as I went out un-planned last night, some of the als posse had planned to go out to the airport to greet Jill who was returning from WA (former national welfare, small & regional officer), stayed about and painted a banner 'former nob's welcome here', ate pizza, rearranged officers and then went of to the trade bar as adrian was working- wednesdays its 'toss the boss', half price drinks are up for grabs depending on the fall of a coin. Adrian is also quite librel (notice small 'l') in his handling of spirits, i was basically drinking gin on the rocks! so i was a tad trashy drunk, and i was annoyed the regular dj was not there, he plays a fantastic range of the trashiest 80's and early 90's moosic!!>>i am a brave grrl, i killed 2 huntsman the other night, pesky criters invading my space!, i nuked 'em with spray before smashing them to bits, enjoyed it. i fucking hate spiders! spiders should be part of the axis of evil.....>> kraa is a NASTY grrl, as she put down in her journal how i had a 'thing' for flea!! ok so i think she rox, but i dont think she is god, as georgie said god is a truck driver named fred, i have read god is a black lesbian and heard the god is a dj... hmmm, and if i did think in such hierachies i would have said goddess, a punk rock grrl goddess...**Infatuation file: Flea (& kraa wont tell me why thats so terrible and bad for me!)
登録:
コメント (Atom)